Every NRL club's player of the year winner for 2017 season

Cameron Smith of the Storm
Cameron Smith of the Storm JOE CASTRO

THE results are in.

The player of the year for each club have been announced with seven club captains, one fullback, one winger, two hookers featuring.


Andrew McCullough poses after receiving the Paul Morgan Medal.
Andrew McCullough poses after receiving the Paul Morgan Medal. SUPPLIED


Andrew McCullough

While the hooker had surgery after tearing his ACL against the Eels in Round 21, missing the final five games of the season didn't make any difference.

He finished on top of the Paul Morgan Medal tally with 59 votes.

Matt Gillett was the next closest on 44 points.


Junior Paulo.

The 23-year-old picked up the Mal Meninga medal after beating out rookie Nick Cotric by one point.


Josh Jackson.

The backrower took out the Dr George Peponis medal.


Paul Gallen.

The 36-year-old was the winner of the Monty Porter player of the year and the Tommy Bishop players' player awardee.


Paul Broughton Medal winner Anthony Don.
Paul Broughton Medal winner Anthony Don.


Anthony Don.

Don became the first winger in the club's history to win the Paul Broughton Medal.

The flyer tallied 49 votes, two ahead of NSW Origin hooker Nathan Peats on 47.


Daly Cherry-Evans.

The Manly skipper was awarded the Roy Bull 'Best and Fairest' award.


Cameron Smith.

The skipper snapped Jesse Bromwich's run of three consecutive player of the year gongs.


Mitch Barnett.

The 23-year-old claimed the Danny Buderus medal.

"There is no doubt Mitch is a player that other players want to play with," coach Nathan Brown said.

"He is tough, he competes hard and he has plenty of skill, and winning the Danny Buderus Medal is a reward for his consistency."


Jason Taumalolo with partner Liana La Riva at the Cowboys' awards night.
Jason Taumalolo with partner Liana La Riva at the Cowboys' awards night. Scott Radford-Chisholm


Jason Taumalolo.

The lock has won consecutive Paul Bowman Medals.

The 24-year-old won the award ahead of teammate Michael Morgan.

"Jason has again had a huge year," said Cowboys' General Manager of Football Peter Parr. "With a season-ending injury to our co-captain Matt Scott, Jason stepped up enormously, leading by example week-in, week-out."

Taumalolo became the first forward in the NRL to pass 5000 running metres for the season.


Nathan Brown.

The lock took out the Ken Thornett medal in his first season with the club.


Reagan Campbell-Gillard.

The prop took out the Merv Cartwright medal.


Sam Burgess.

The lock claimed the George Piggins Medal as the best and fairest player for the third time.

The English international won the award last year and previously in 2014.

Burgess played in 21 games this year, running for 2988 metres from 339 runs.


Gareth Widdop.

The captain claimed his first medal from his time at the club.


Boyd Cordner.

The skipper won the Jack Gibson medal.


Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.

The 24-year-old captain beat five-time winner Simon Mannering for the prize.


Elijah Taylor.

The Wests Tigers vice-captain was a standout in the team, averaging more than 42 tackles per game.

Topics:  andrew mccullough anthony don brisbane broncos cameron smith editors picks gold coast titans jason taumalolo north queensland cowboys nrl

News Corp Australia

Stay Connected

Update your news preferences and get the latest news delivered to your inbox.

Kilcoy gets a run at history

HONOURED: Somerset's Matthew Heck will carry the Queens Baton through Kilcoy next Tuesday.

Queen's Baton Relay celebrations to hit town next week.

Rain gives a boost to prices

ON THE RISE: Recent rain in the state is driving demand for cattle.

Cattle prices recover from last year's fall

Have you seen the car connected to a Laidley robbery?

Police are appealing for information on a break and enter of the QN Hotel in Laidley.

If you know anything contact police or Crime Stoppers.

Local Partners